Taipei Dangdai|Asia Art Center|F04|CHU Weibor: Break Through

Artist: CHU Weibor

Date: Jan.17 ~ 20, 2019

VIP Preview: Jan. 17 (Thu) 2~5pm、Jan. 18 ~ 20 (Fri, Sat, Sun) 11~12pm

Vernissage: Jan. 17 (Thu) 5~9pm

Public Opening: Jan. 18 (Fri) 12~8pm、Jan. 19 (Sat) 12~7pm、Jan. 20 (Sun) 12~5pm

Venue: Taipei Nangang Exhibition Center, Hall 1 (4th Floor)  (No. 1, Jingmao 2nd Road, Nangang District, Taipei City)

Booth: F04

Asia Art Center is pleased to present the solo exhibition of abstract art master, Chu Weibor, at the first edition of Taipei Dangdai. Our show displays thirteen selected pieces between 1965 to 2017, reflecting his half-decade proposition of translating Eastern aesthetics through abstracted forms, providing a unique insight into re-thinking the transformations of cultural ideologies.

As a key member of the “Ton Fan Society”, Chu began to explore ways of re-imagining Eastern imagery in the 1960s, which marks the initial phase of his multi-media experimentations. The monoprints produced during the 1970s reduced traditional-style landscapes into semi-geometrically abstracted forms, portraying a vivid contrast between reality and imagination, or existence and emptiness, illustrating a surrealistic vision of the literati fascination towards nature that adheres to the classical Chinese poetics of “becoming one with the world”.

 The Window of Wisdom

1965 Ink on paper 78×54.5cm

Gray Night

1966 Ink on paper 78×54.5cm

Later inspired by Fontana’s Spatialism, Chu adamantly abandoned flat-surface works and transitioned to multi-media collage compositions that primarily employed paper and fabric. Through the acts of slashing and layering, Chu emulated the visual depth and heaviness of calligraphic strokes, sculpting a three-dimensional physicality that formulate the sensibility of material abstraction. Furthermore, the previously existing representations of reality are simplified into rhythmic lines and kinetic forms, transcending the depicted matters into pure imagery. With the monochromic palette that evokes the disposition of leaving blank in ink paintings, the combined visualizations of emptiness in both form and composition allude to the ideal of “action through inaction” in Taoist philosophy, such act of purification expands the art into endless imaginations, while revealing the artist’s idiosyncrasy.

Stabilizing

1998 Cotton 260×177cm

Break Through

1998 Cotton 261×163cm

The Origin of Life

1994 Cotton 130×162cm

Through his creative pursuit of a modernized Eastern aesthetics, Chu Weibor has extracted traditional heritage from its established formality to develop a personalized language, contributing to the “Break Through” onto broader horizons that enables new visions of cultural expressions.

Revelation 2001 Linen, cotton swabs, ink 85×170×3cm

CHU Weibor(1929~2018)

Born in 1929 in Nanjing, was given the name Wushuen. In 1949, as a soldier, he moved to Taiwan with the troops. Art was his passion in his free time. In 1953, he studied painting in Liao Chichun’s “Yunho Studio” and began his art career. In 1958, he joined the “Painting Association of the East”. In 1960, inspired by Lucio Fontana (1899-1968), the founder of Spatialism, he started to devote himself to a long-term exploration of Spatialism. He began slashing his canvas to create spaces of hollowness and bulges, such creative method that shows Chu’s spirituality as he pursued a philosophical artistic narrative. The artist’s important solo exhibitions include solo exhibition at the Bechtel International Center of Stanford University in 1971, Retrospective Exhibition: Chu Wei-Bor at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum in 2005, Sunyata: Chu Wei-bor Solo Exhibition at the Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts in 2012, Chu Weibor Retrospective: Śūnyatā at Asia Art Center in 2018; his important group exhibitions include the 11th and 12th Exhibition of Modern Prints in Taipei in 1969-70, 4th and 6th Biennial of British Prints in England in 1974 and 1979, A Group Exhibition of the 25th Anniversary of Ton Fon Art Group and The Fifth Month Art Group at the National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts in 1981, Taipei Modern Painting 1986 H.K. Exhibition in Hong Kong in 1986, Retrospective Exhibition of Modern Chinese Painting at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum in 1986, New Modern Chinese Painting at the National Museum of History in 1987, Modern Painting Exhibition at the Kaohsiung Cultural Center in 1988, Taipei Modern Art Exchange Exhibition at the Shanghai Art Museum in 1996, and From the Ground Up – Artist Association in 1950s Taiwan at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum in 2003 and 2004, 1960 – The Origin of Taiwan’s Modern Art at Asia Art Center, Taipei in 2016, FROM CHINA TO TAÏWAN. Pioneers of abstraction (1955-1985) at The Museum of Ixelles in 2017, Duo Exhibition of CHU Weibor and FONG Chung Ray held by Asia Art Center at Art Basel Hong Kong in 2018.

台北當代藝術博覽會|亞洲藝術中心|F04|朱為白:一念破萬象

藝術家朱為白

展期:Jan.17 ~ 20, 2019

貴賓預展:Jan. 17(四)2~5pm、Jan. 18 ~ 20(五、六、日)11~12pm

開幕酒會:Jan. 17(四)5~9pm

公眾開放:Jan. 18(五)12~8pm、Jan. 19(六)12~7pm、Jan. 20(日)12~5pm

展覽地點:南港展覽館1館4樓  (台北市南港區經貿二路1 號)

展位:F04

亞洲藝術中心將於首屆「台北當代藝術博覽會」呈現抽象藝術大師「朱為白」1965-2017共13件精選作品。其創作的多元表現方式,將帶領我們從多角度一窺他詮釋東方美學的獨特視野,及探究其創作脈絡中東方文化思想橫亙半世紀的現代化進程。

作為東方畫會的主要成員之一,朱為白自1960年代起即受時代風氣的激發,而在創作上出現改革東方意象的思維,開展其多媒材的實驗性藝術創作。他1970年代的主要創作型態之一是獨版的玻璃版畫,山水的傳統畫法被他簡化為幾何圖形,呈現半抽象形態,具象與抽象、實與虛的融合與對比,大膽地以超現實畫風展現文人精神對於自然萬象的崇仰以及「天人合一」的美學,宇宙山水在此類創作中隱約有形,竟更顯渾厚。

智慧之窗 1965 水墨紙本 78×54.5cm

灰色夜 水墨紙本 78×54.5cm

朱為白亦受封塔納空間主義的啟發,捨棄純平面創作而轉向以紙本和布為主的多媒材組合,以割剪、疊層、拼貼的手法突破平面的侷限,他僅將布本身塑造出立體空間,即呈現水墨的厚實、韻律、甚至精神深度,其富有節奏感的線條與動態性的形式,超越了具體事物本身,在他手中逐漸演化成純粹的意象。另外,朱為白慣用單色調,其用意與「留白」可謂異曲同工,作品構圖佈局中的「虛」則暗示道家哲學中「無為」的理想境界,在此,這位創作者本身的性格特質,自然流洩。

定立 1998 棉 260×177cm

一念破萬象 1998 棉 261×163cm

生命本源 1994 棉 130×162cm

東方美學經歷過一場現代化的追尋與革新因而呈現今日的面貌,在眾多創作者之中,朱為白便是一個突出的案例:他從傳統既定的形式中汲取精華,發揚水墨的「精神」本質,跳脫傳統的框架,選擇了一條專屬於他個人極為異數的藝術語彙,以「一念破萬象」氣度與遠見,指出水墨與現代化東方美學融合後的嶄新發展路徑。

展 2001 麻、棉花棒、墨汁 85×170×3cm

朱為白(1929~2018)

1929年出生於南京,本名朱武順。1949年隨軍來台。1953年在廖繼春的「雲和畫室」習畫。1958年起加入「東方畫會」。1960年啟發於空間主義創始人封塔那(Lucio Fontana),朱為白的創作突破材質的平面限制,透過刀剪線縫手藝營造空間感,進一步呈現藝術家對生命的感悟。藝術家重要個展包括1971年加州史丹佛大學個展、2005年台北市立美術館的「朱為白回顧展」、2012年關渡美術館的「造空者」、2018年亞洲藝術中心的「朱為白回顧展-破空為白」;重要群展包括1969-1970年「第十一屆現代版畫展」及「第十二屆現代版畫展」、1974與1979年英國的「第四屆英國國際版畫雙年展」與「第六屆英國國際版畫雙年展」、1981年台灣省立美術館(今國立台灣美術館)的「東方‧五月二十五週年聯展」、1986年於香港的「台北現代畫1986香港大展」、台北市立美術館的「中國現代繪畫回顧展」、國立歷史博物館的「中國當代繪畫展」、1987年國立歷史博物館的「中國當代繪畫新貌展」、1988年高雄市立中正文化中心的「現代繪畫展」、1996年上海美術館的「台北現代藝術交流展」、2003與2004年台北市立美術館的「長流-50年代台灣美術發展」、2016年台北亞洲藝術中心的「1960–台灣現代藝術的濫觴」、2017年比利時伊克塞爾博物館的「從中國到台灣–抽象藝術先鋒(1955-1985)」、2018年亞洲藝術中心於香港巴賽爾藝術展呈現的朱為白、馮鍾睿雙個展。