2014 Art Taipei
Asia Art Center: The Warmth of Spirit within the Thriving Society

Main Booth | A14
MIT Booth | Y05
Date | 31 Oct (Fri) – 3 Nov 2014 (Mon)
Hours | 11:00am – 7:00 pm (3 Nov – 6:00pm)
Address | Taipei World Trade Center (Area BCD) No.5, Sec. 5, Xinyi Rd., Xinyi Dist., Taipei City

As technology continues to advance at a lightning speed, people’s lifestyle and way of thinking are consistently shifting; to be within the progressively complex space and time, the perception of art and culture is faced with an ultimate transformation. Following the topic The Great Acceleration proposed by Taipei Biennale this year, Asia Art Center, situated in the heart of the main exhibition section (A14), not only persists to broaden the concept of “The Spirit of the East”, but also reflects upon the networks of art and contemporary society, utilizing the essence of Chinese culture to illustrate the multifaceted concerns unique to our current world.

Xu Bing has long observed the linguistic and intellectual patterns of people; tradition and culture are dissected and reassembled, as seen from the new English calligraphy engraved onCobbled Path and installation work Background Story. Xu is presenting us with a new way of looking and perspective, thereby initiating space for intellectual movement. Distinctly different from Li Chen’s familiar elegant bronze sculptures, he deliberately creates rough and cracking surface texture to depict every type of characters of the ordinary folks, in order to imply conflicts as a result of innate greed, stripping people’s masks to reveal their human nature. Li’s latest work epitomizes the collective spiritual state of this era.

Liu Dan’s 5-meter long large scale artwork Mountain Wu has No Equal will also be exhibited alongside two of Yang’s latest acrylic works. Viewers will be able to relish in abstract and realism, prospect and subtlety; the intriguing aspects further enhances the notion of “purity” in artists’ mindsets through the various tribulations in life.

Wang Tiande’s Mountain Behind (Houshan) series replaces traditional calligraphic strokes with flames, the hollowed out landscape or calligraphic work masks the monotype prints of ancient steel plates underneath, establishing an atmosphere where contemporary art meets the past. Zhang Huan collects the ashes from burned incense to create “ash paintings.” Through this unique method, Zhang is exploring the spirit of our collective culture, echoing the significance of the medium in our everyday life.

In addition, Gao Xingjian’s sentiments, Chuang Che’s landscapes, Pan Hsinhua’s foreign lands, and Dong Shawhwei’s still life can all be attributed to the process of artists’ desire to seek a moment to pause and to expand in this ever-changing world.

Asia Art Center is determined to support Taiwan’s younger generation of artists, thus will be partnering up for the first time with Yeh Renkun, a brilliant young artist featured in the Made in Taiwan- Young Artist Discovery section. As the first prize winner of the Emerging Artist award at the Taipei Contemporary Ink Painting Biennale in 2010, Yeh’s meticulous touch and insights capture the slow and quiet, gradually forgotten corners in our city. Yeh further states that “…while depicting the seemingly frigid architecture, the subtle temperature left on the surface with the passage of time is illustrated as well; mirroring the fragmented images collected through memory, the memory and connections of past events are pursued through the various imagined architecture and stages.” 12 of the artist’s works will be exhibited at booth Y05.

第二十一屆台北藝博會─ 亞洲藝術中心呈現急速社會裡的精神溫度

主展位|A14
MIT展位|Y05
展覽展期|2014.9.26–2015.4.19
展覽時間|2014年10月31日(五)至11月03日(一)
展覽館址|台北世界貿易中心展覽大樓一館(BCD區)台北市信義區信義路五段五號

隨著科技不斷推陳出新,當代人們的生活型態與思維正急速變遷,在這日趨複雜的空間與時間軸裡,藝術與文化的認知亦面臨轉化。繼今年台北雙年展提出「劇烈加速度」的主題之後,亞洲藝術中心,作為本屆展區中心位置 (A14) 的參展畫廊,進一步反思藝術與當代社會的連結與關係。展覽主題延續其「新東方精神」的理念,探索藝術家如何用運用東方文化底蘊,呈現今日跨領域的議題,直指人性與精神的溫度。

長期關注現代人的語言與思考慣性,徐冰「石徑」上所刻的新英文書法與裝置作品「背後的故事」將傳統文化解構並進行重組,提供一種新的觀看方式與敘事角度,藉此展開思維運動的空間。而不同於以往銅雕的心靈美善,李真的【凡夫】系列使用粗糙崩裂的表皮,描繪凡夫俗子的各種樣貌,藉此隱喻你我他帶著原慾掙扎著互相碰撞爭奪,赤裸裸地揭發人性本貌,以及這個時代的集體精神狀態。

這次亦首次展出劉丹5公尺大幅畫作「巫山無疇」,與楊識宏兩幅200號最新壓克力油畫,觀者的感受得以在抽象與具象、統覽與微觀之間游移,其妙處更證明了藝術家在生命的歷練中,心境轉為「純」熟的表現。

王天德的「後山圖」系列作品則以火灼取代毛筆書寫,將灼空的山水或書法創作覆於古代石碑拓片和冊頁之上,營造出了一種與古代互相對視的氛圍。張洹的「香灰畫」則是收集線香燒後的餘燼作畫,透過嶄新的形式探討文化精神,反思其媒材在日常生活中的意義。

此外,高行健的心境、莊喆的山水、潘信華的異域、董小蕙的靜物花卉,亦可解釋為藝術家在快速運轉世界中,始終在尋找一個停格的瞬間,再將這個瞬間極大化的過程。

持續支持台灣新生代藝術家,本屆新人特區 (MIT) 亞洲藝術中心首度與葉仁焜合作。身為2010年第三屆台北當代水墨雙年展新秀獎首獎得主,葉仁焜細膩的筆觸與洞察力似乎是當代城市的一首慢板,滑過被遺忘的角落。對此,葉仁焜表示:「……雖是描繪冰冷的建築體,亦試圖表現出時間在建築上留下的隱隱溫度,投射於其記憶所拼湊出的片段影像之上,透過自身創建的建築與場景,追尋對於某些過往事件的回憶與連結。」,藝術家的12幅作品將於攤位Y05精彩呈現。