Suzhou Museum “Buddha · China”, Dialogue between Li Chen’s works and Buddhist Objects in the Early Stage from the Gansu Provincial Museum

Title Buddha · China – Buddhist Objects in the Early Stage from the Gansu Provincial Museum
Host: Suzhou Museum, Gansu Provincial Museum
Co-Host: Asia Art Center
Duration: Mar 30, 2019 (Sat.) – May 26, 2019 (Sun.)
Opening Ceremony: Mar 29, 2019 (Fri.) 4pm
Venue: Special Exhibition Galleries
204 Northeast Street in Suzhou City

 

“Buddha · China – Buddhist Objects in the Early Stage from the Gansu Provincial Museum” hosts its grand opening on Mar. 29 at the Suzhou Museum. Organized by the Suzhou Museum and the Gansu Provincial Museum, with collaboration from Asia Art Center, the exhibition displays 35 early-stage Buddhist objects from the Gansu Provincial Museum’s collection and 7 selected works from Li Chen’s early oeuvre. The exhibition will be on view till May. 26, 2019.

 

The exhibition is divided into four sections: “Image of Buddha”, “Memory of Buddha”, “Doctrine of Buddha” and “Buddha · China”. The first three sections respectively exhibit the Buddha heads, pagodas, inscriptions and scripture from the Gansu Provincial Museum’s collection; meanwhile, Li Chen’s contemporary Buddhist-inspired sculptures are placed in the last section, thus creating a proceeding temporal passage that connects the past and present.

Li Chen’s work Ariel Pagoda and Gansu Provincial Museum’s Buddhist statues are arranged in juxtaposition, constructing a time-crossing dialogue.

 Avalokitesvara

1992 Bronze 75x36x128cm

During the Han and Tang Dynasties, much of the West Region’s culture and commodities were imported into China through the “Silk Road”. Today’s Gansu region has been a hub of cultural exchange between China and the West since ancient times. In the chronicles of Buddhism’s spread into mainland China, Gansu was one of the earliest provinces to receive the Buddhist Dharma.

 

Gansu Provincial Museum has an extensive collection of classical Buddhist scripture, statues and relics, from which, 35 early-stage superb Buddhist objects are selected and shown at the exhibition under the subtopics of “Image of Buddha”, “Memory of Buddha” and “Doctrine of Buddha”, demonstrating the historical course of Buddhism in early China. Among the exhibiting artifacts, a Northern-Wei painted stone sculpture of Prabhutaratna and two Northern-Wei painted relief sculpture of Bodhisattva are classified as first-class national treasure, which are of significant academic and research value.

 

Echoing with the Gansu Provincial Museum’s early stage Buddhist objects, seven works from Li Chen’s early oeuvre are also featured in the exhibition. Li has devoted to the artistic creation of “Buddha · China” in the past decades, where his compositions have provided unique insights to the Buddhist culture in a contemporary context.

 

Through the bilateral display of early-stage Buddhist statues from Gansu and contemporary sculpture by Li Chen, the exhibition aims to offer an enlightening introduction on early Buddhist art, as well as the geographical importance of Gansu in facilitating the promotion of Buddhist culture.

Aerial Pagoda

2010 Bronze 47.5x30x168cm

Maitreya

1997 Bronze 18x17x65cm

Dragon-Riding Bodhisattva, Wisdom Bodhisattva, and Fulfillment Bodhisattv

2001 Bronze 118x40x55cm

In the exhibition display, works by Li Chen will be featured alongside the early-stage Buddhist art from the Gansu Provincial Museum; particularly, the calligraphic legend Huai Su cursive script writings on Buddhist studies form a sophisticated visual parallel with Li’s sculpture. This exhibition marks a thematic continuum of Li Chen’s solo exhibition at Aurora Museum, channeling an immersive passage that drifts between the art of thousands of years apart. Wherein this dialogue beyond time and space, past and present, perceptibly narrates the incarnation of history that is self-evident in Li Chen’s art.

Artist Lecture

Time:May 19th, 2019

Speaker:Li Chen

Venue:Zhong Wang Fu Educational Room

(Please refer to the official website of Suzhou Museum for update information)

Li Chen(b. 1963 )

Li Chen was born in 1963 in Yunlin. He graduated from Dajia Senior High School in 1981; currently lives and works in Taichung. His selected solo exhibitions include: Through the Ages – Li Chen Solo Exhibition (Aurora Museum, Shanghai, 2018), Being: In/Voluntary Drift Li Chen Solo Exhibition (Museum of Contemporary Art, Taipei, 2017), Journey of Solitary Existence: Li Chen Ordinary People Debut Exhibition (Asia Art Center, Beijing, 2014), Chineseness-A Documentary Exhibition on Li Chen (Asia Art Center, Taipei, 2013), Monumental Levity: Li Chen’s Major Sculpture Solo Exhibition at Place Vendôme (Place Vendôme, Paris, 2013), Li Chen: Eternity and Commoner (Frye Art Museum, Seattle, 2012), Greatness of Spirit: Li Chen Premiere Sculpture Exhibition in Taiwan (National Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall, Taipei, 2011), Li Chen: Mind.Body.Spirit (Singapore Art Museum, Singapore, 2009), Soul Guardians – In an Age of Disasters and Calamities (Asia Art Center, Beijing, 2008), In Search of Spiritual Space(National Art Museum of China, Beijing, 2008), Energy of Emptiness (Telecom Italia Future Centre, 52ndInternational Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia, 2007). His selected group exhibitions include: Buddha.China – Buddhist Objects in the Early Stage from the Gansu Provincial Museum (Suzhou Museum, Suzhou, 2019), The Return of Elegancy – Chinese Contemporary Art Exhibition (Shenzhen Art Museum, Shenzhen, 2016), Metamorphosis – Biennale China-Italia (Manet Art Gallery, Beijing, 2016), Rest on Water and Gargle with Stone – Chinese Contemporary Literati Arts (Asia Art Center, Beijing, 2015), Culture.Mind.Becoming (Palazzo Mora, 55thInternational Art Exhibition – 2003 La Biennale di Venezia, 2013), China Onward: Chinese Contemporary Art, 1966-2006 (The Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Copenhagen; Israel Museum, Jerusalem, 2007), OPENASIA, 10th International Exhibition of Sculptures and Installations (Venice, 2007), Fiction Love – Ultra New Vision in Contemporary Art (Museum of Contemporary Art, Taipei, 2004), OPENASIA, 7th International Exhibition of Sculptures and Installations (Venice, 2004), China Without Borders (Sotheby’s New York, New York, 2001). His artworks are collected by: Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts (Kaohsiung) and Olenska Foundation (Geneva).

蘇州博物館「佛陀 • 中國」展覽,藝術家李真作品對話甘肅省博物館藏早期佛教文物

展名: 佛陀 · 公國 – 甘肅省博物館藏早期佛教文物展
主辦單位: 蘇州博物館、甘肅省博物館
協辦單位: 亞洲藝術中心
展覽時間: Mar 30, 2019 (六) – May 26, 2019 (日)
開幕式: Mar 29, 2019 (五) 4pm
展覽地點: 蘇州博物館地下一樓特展廳|蘇州市東北街204號

 

「佛陀·中國—甘肅省博物館藏早期佛教文物展」於3月29日在蘇州博物館開幕隆重開展,此次展覽由蘇州博物館及甘肅省博物館主辦,亞洲藝術中心協辦,共展出甘肅省博物館35件早期佛教文物及藝術家李真7件精選早期佛教雕塑。展覽將延續到2019年5月26日。

此次展覽分為四個部分:「佛的形象」、「佛的銘記」、「佛的言教」、「佛陀·中國」。前三部分分別展示甘肅省博物館館藏佛頭、佛塔、碑刻及佛經;最後一部分則展示藝術家李真作品,意在通過展示現當代語境下的佛教造像藝術,以實現古今對話。

藝術家李真作品《托塔》與甘肅博物館館藏佛教文物並置,形成古今交鋒。

水月觀音

1992 銅雕 75x36x128cm

漢唐時期,西域的文化與商品大多經由「絲綢之路」進入到中國。現今的甘肅地區,自古以來就是中西文化交流的通道。佛教傳入中國內地的過程中,甘肅全境是最早得聞佛法的地區之一。

甘肅省博物館收藏佛教經典、造像等文物十分豐富,此次展覽特別從中選擇三十五件精美的早期佛教文物,以「佛的形象」、「佛的銘記」、「佛的言教」為主線,展現中國早期佛教發展的源流與歷程。其中北魏的彩繪石雕釋迦多寶佛座像和北魏兩尊彩繪影塑供養菩薩像為國家一級文物,十分具有研究價值。

配合甘肅省博物館早期佛教文物的展示,本次展覽還展出了著名藝術家李真早期創作的七件作品。李真數十年來一直致力於「佛陀 • 中國」的創作,其中蘊含著當代人對佛教文化與藝術的獨到理解。

此次展覽希望通過展示甘肅出土的早期佛教造像和李真的創作作品,讓觀眾對早期的佛教藝術,以及甘肅在佛教傳播與發展中的重要地位有更進一步的了解。

托塔

2010 銅雕 47.5x30x168cm

未来佛

1997 銅雕 18x17x65cm

大士騎龍、文殊菩薩、普賢菩薩套組

2001 銅雕 118x40x55cm

在本次展覽的陳列上,藝術家李真作品與甘肅省博物館館藏之早期佛教文物並置,在時間關係上則與千年美術形成交鋒,如與其後的懷素草書相互輝映——懷素作為一代書法名家,也精於對佛學的研究,著有多部佛經律典。此次展覽與震旦博物館李真個展的呈現一脈相承,形成了超時空的、浸入式古今對話,承前啟後,可謂巧妙。

藝術家課堂

時間:2019年5月19日

主講人:李真(藝術家)

地點:忠王府忠教育活動室

(具體活動信息以蘇州博物館官網為準)

李真(b. 1963 )

李真,1963年生於雲林,1981年畢業於大甲高中美工科。現工作及生活於台中。個展包括:「古往今來—李真個展」(震旦博物館,上海,2018)、「『世』— 一場自願非願的遊浮」(台北當代藝術館,台北,2017)、「荒徒—李真凡夫系列首展」(亞洲藝術中心,北京,2014)、「華人藝術紀—李真文獻展」(亞洲藝術中心,台北,2013)、「既重又輕—李真2013巴黎凡登廣場大型雕塑個展」(凡登廣場,巴黎,2013)、「造化之不生不滅:千歲與草民」(弗萊伊美術館,西雅圖,2012)、「大氣—李真台灣大型雕塑首展」(中正紀念堂,台北,2011)、「李真:精神.身體.靈魂」(新加坡國家美術館,新加坡,2009)、「神魄」(亞洲藝術中心,北京,2008)、「尋找精神的空間」(中國美術館,北京,2008)、「虛空中的能量」(威尼斯未來展望美術館,第52屆威尼斯雙年展,威尼斯,2007)。群展包括:「佛陀.中國—甘肅省博物館藏早期佛教文物展」(蘇州博物館,蘇州,2019)、「文兮歸來—中國當代藝術展」(深圳美術館,深圳,2016)、「蛻變 — 中國-義大利當代藝術雙年展」(馬奈草地美術館,北京,2016)、「枕流漱石 – 當代文人藝術展」(亞洲藝術中心,北京,2015)、「文化.精神.生成」(威尼斯莫拉宮殿,第55屆威尼斯雙年展,威尼斯,2013)、「中國當代藝術前沿展 1966-2006」(路易斯安那現代美術館,哥本哈根;以色列博物館,耶路撒冷,2007)、「威尼斯第十屆國際雕塑及裝置大展OPENASIA」(威尼斯,2007)、「虛擬的愛—當代新異術國際展」(當代藝術館,台北,2004)、「威尼斯第七屆國際雕塑及裝置大展OPENASIA」(威尼斯,2004)、「無疆界的中國—華人當代藝術聯展」(蘇富比曼哈頓總部,紐約,2001)。作品收藏於:高雄市立美術館(高雄)、奧蘭斯卡基金會(日內瓦)。