Title Narrative Minds
Artists Alejandro Acosta, Giorgio Celin, Carlo D’Anselmi, Veronica Fernandez, Andrew Pierre Hart, Florence Hutchings, Pieter Jennes, Charlotte Keates, Amy Lincoln, David Noro, Francisco Rodríguez, Moritz Schleime, Astrid Terrazas, Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson, Etienne Zack
Dates June 11, 2022 – August 7, 2022
Reception June 11, 2022 (Sat.) 4:00 p.m.
Venue
Asia Art Center (Taipei)

Narrative Minds

Asia Art Center (Taipei) is pleased to announce the annual international emerging artists exhibition running from June 11, 2022, Narrative Minds, which features 15 artists from the UK, Spain, Germany, Belgium, Denmark, the US, Canada, and Colombia. The concept that is brought into focus, “narrative”, foregrounds the contextual dimension instead of the story itself. It is much emphasized how stories are narrated and how people produce authentic subjective experience through establishing their identities and interacting with their surroundings. In Narrative Minds, artists from different countries of varied backgrounds investigate their visual narratives by looking into three major aspects.

First of all, discussions centering around “humanity” look into human beings in societal contexts and interpersonal relations. Narratives belonging to this category are inevitably emotionally charged. Alejandro Acosta, who is passionate about literature and online games, draws upon a combination of classical art history and the contemporary world. His art explores the virtual world and reality while addressing technology-oriented lives of urban contemporaneity in which acceleration and maximization are valued. Similarly, Francisco Rodriguez depicts a mixture of fantasies and everyday reality. The storyboard-like compositions he creates are rich in references to visual languages of cinema and comics, which invites viewers to explore potential narratives links between images. In Carlo D’Anselmi’s paintings, humans behave in accordance to conscious and subconscious reality, as if they were in a dream or in a transitional state. Poetic qualities can be found in such a meditative atmosphere brought about by metaphoric descriptions. Veronica Fernandez, on the other hand, illustrates blurred personal recollections of family life. Through an intended sense of unfinishedness, the narratives are made open-ended for viewers to create their own. A shared nostalgia speaks to the relations between human beings and their surroundings, as well as the impermanence of emotions. With hints of a migratory background and nostalgic sentiments, Giorgio Celin’s work portrays the tension and contradictions that happen when people gradually become mutually dependent yet meanwhile causing harm to each other in an intimate relationship. David Noro utilizes different characters to constitute comprehensive scenes in which images are based on snippets of real events. The scenes in Noro’s works are chaotic yet serene, where the out-of-focus pictures bring about new, extended meanings.

Secondly, this exhibition includes artworks concerning a subject’s endless imagining of the “environment” and the condensation of everyday poeticity. Images of modernist leisure created by Charlotte Keates, for example, are inspired by interiors, travels, her interest in architecture, and elements from the natural world. Keates’ images convey a sense of stillness and vulnerability—almost like a moment frozen in time waiting for something to emerge. Meanwhile, the artistic practice of Andrew Pierre Hart explores the symbiotic relationship between sound and painting, with a focus on somatic responses to ideas relating to sounds. In addition to the focus on sounds, Hart’s work negotiates the visual language and legacies of Western abstraction. Florence Hutchings’ nearly abstract paintings, on the other hand, revolve around the poetry of the everyday. She depicts elements of her life, giving them the life and vitality through constant, labor-intensive, layered repainting and collage. And, Amy Lincoln makes imaginative and intensely hued paintings of the natural world. The intricately considered juxtaposition of lighter and darker hues playfully constructs depth and spaciousness on a flat surface. Moreover, Etienne Zack sees painting as a memory storage technology and a philosophical terrain. Having been reflecting on the fast collapse and shifts of natural habitats on earth, he pieces fractured images together to discuss how newly altered modes of mediated existence in our lives affect how we feel, think and belong to our surroundings.

Last but not least, the third group of artworks deals with symbolism and healing narratives. With a subjective agency active telling and interpreting diverse chaotic fragments of inspiration, the artist or the storytelling gets to know himself/herself better through the narratives he/she tells. The art of Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson, for instance, is inspired by popular culture, modern art, and African folklores, with which he aims at examining colonialism, archeology, and futurism. Narratives are dissected and dissembled in order to give way to a new universe created with machines, humans, animals, skeletons, spirits and ritualistic dance—a fantasized Armageddon. Likewise, Astrid Terrazas merges dreamscapes, Mexican ancestral folklore, and personal life experiences in her paintings, which she describes as “a process of finding and burying (things).” The transfigurations and metaphors in her paintings function like spells for protection. Whereas Terrazas sees painting as a journey of weaving new healing narratives to transmute histories, Pieter Jennes paints scenes that are often reminiscent of folklores or comic theater performances. While being serious and playful at the same time, Jennes’ work looks at old and contemporary cultural phenomena to put forth a new compound narrative. Lastly, Moritz Schleime’s artistic practice is a colorful rush of symbolism where music, literature, art history, popular culture all serve as a source of inspiration. Schleime’s surreal scenes, filled with dualities pertaining to rebirth after destruction—such as life and death, movement and stillness, and intoxication and sobriety, not only are humorous and full of irony but also shows a powerful presence of romance and hope.

Subjective experiences are preserved within individuals and in cultures at large. They manifest themselves in intangible connotative forms. More specifically, experience is a kind of sensory or cognitive structure created during attempts of meaning-making. Artists’ visual languages, then, are like flocculants that bring together scattered, transient, unstructured perceptions and transform them into rich narratives told from diverse points of view.

ON-SITE
ARTWORKS

David Noro    Face

David Noro   Friends with blind eyes

David Noro  Some kind of hunt

Amy Lincoln    Impatients and Tomato

Etienne Zack   Daylight Memo

Etienne Zack    Echo

Etienne Zack   Progression

Pieter Jennes   How many camels

Florence Hutchings  Bags, Bras and Boots

Florence Hutchings  Birthday Cake II

Florence Hutchings Living Room (Orange Chairs)

Florence Hutchings  Living Room (Red Chairs)

Florence Hutchings  Living Room (Yellow Chairs)

Florence Hutchings  Partners Talking

Andrew Pierre Hart   Earth Listening – Listening Earth

Andrew Pierre Hart   Earth Tones

Alejandro Acosta  Mind Labyrinth

Alejandro Acosta  Neon Hunter

Francisco Rodríguez  Pandereta

Francisco Rodríguez  The Lie

Carlo d’Anselmi  Double Dog Dare

Carlo d’Anselmi  The Night Had Ended

Charlotte Keates   Sliding Doorways

Courtesy of the Artist and Arusha Gallery

Charlotte Keates   Swathes of Golden Sun

Courtesy of the Artist and Arusha Gallery

Moritz Schleime  Sauf Sauf, Häusle baue (Welcome im Ländle, Mr.Slimie)

Moritz Schleime  Love Boat Captain (Rosi)

Giorgio Celin  The Hedgehog Dilemma II

Giorgio Celin  The Moon was a dandling petal

Veronica Fernandez    Grounded

Veronica Fernandez  Bleached (Why Didn’t You Want Me?)

Astrid Terrazas dos piedras para el cisne

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson   Conflict with wild animal

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson   Idol (echidna)

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson   Idol (Horse with a certain strength)

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson   Idol (Cave Bear with a certain strength)

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson   Another Birdcatcher

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson  The Chevalier

Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson   Prayer with an owl


 Previous Next

展名 Narrative Minds
藝術家 亞歷山大.阿科斯塔 | 喬治.賽林 | 卡羅.德安賽爾米 | 薇若妮卡.費南德斯  | 安德魯.哈特 | 弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯 | 彼得.詹尼斯 | 夏洛特.基茨 | 艾美.林肯 | 大衛.諾羅 | 法蘭西斯柯.羅德里奎茲 | 莫里茨.史萊姆 | 阿斯特麗德.特拉薩斯 | 喬瑟夫.威爾森 | 艾蒂安.查克
 展期  2022.06.11 – 2022.08.07
 開幕  2022.06.11 (六) 4:00 p.m.
地點
亞洲藝術中心(台北)

Narrative Minds

亞洲藝術中心(台北)將於2022年6月11日,舉辦年度海外新銳藝術家大型聯展「Narrative Minds」,集結來自英國、西班牙、德國、比利時、丹麥、美國、加拿大、哥倫比亞等國的十五位藝術家,所帶來的精彩作品。敘事(Narrative)重視脈絡更甚於內容,即故事是如何被敘說的,人們經由自我的創造與環境的互動,建構真實的主體經驗。本次展出來自不同國家與身分背景的創作者,將從三大層面來討論他們的視覺敘事。

首先從「人」的層面展開,如身處社會中的人、與人之間的關係,這樣的敘事帶著情感濃度。熱衷文學與線上遊戲的亞歷山大.阿科斯塔(Alejandro Acosta,結合現代社會與藝術史經典論述,在作品描繪出虛擬與現實,交會在科技與追求速效的都會生活之中;法蘭西斯柯.羅德里奎茲(Francisco Rodríquez則參照電影與漫畫的視覺語言,混合幻想與現實所建構出的畫面像是故事版,邀請觀者探索畫作之間的敘事聯繫;卡羅.德安賽爾米(Carlo D’Anselmi的繪畫中,人物的行為方式是有意識和潛意識的現實,是夢或是一種過渡狀態,在隱喻敘述的沈思氛圍中產生了詩意;另一方面,薇若妮卡.費南德斯 Veronica Fernandez模糊地呈現了記憶中的家庭生活,開放敘事讓觀者參與創作,喚起共同懷舊(Nostalgia)的情感場景,感受人與環境的關係以及情感的無常;而作品有著移民背景與懷舊色彩的喬治.賽林(Giorgio Celin,陳述著親密關係建立時彼此需要卻同時相互傷害的拉扯張力;大衛.諾羅(David Noro則試圖通過不同的角色來描繪一個完整的情景,那些畫面是真實故事情節的一些片刻,然而混亂即平靜,失焦的畫面發展出了新的意義。

其次是主體專注於對「環境」的無盡想像,與日常詩意的凝結。畫面帶著現代主義休閒形象的夏洛特.基茨(Charlotte Keates對建築深感興趣,透過想像力融合了室內設計、旅行與自然元素,呈現的是一個時間凝固的寂靜瞬間,既期待又忐忑的脆弱時刻;對聲音與繪畫之間共生關係深入研究的安德魯.哈特(Andrew Pierre Hart,在其藝術實踐中探索身體對聲音的反應,除了聲音演出,其視覺語言是對西方抽象遺產的重新協商;而弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯(Florence Hutchings近乎抽象的繪畫,圍繞著日常的詩意展開,生活中的場景與物件是主要的創作元素,透過不斷重複勞動的層層上色與拼貼,賦予生命和活力;在不同的題材上,艾美.林肯(Amy Lincoln的創作則是充滿想像力和強烈色彩的自然世界,於魔幻平面構圖中透過色調來創造空間,富有童心;將繪畫視為一種記憶儲存技術和哲學的艾蒂安.查克(Etienne Zack,反思了自然棲息地的快速崩潰和變化,透過破碎圖像的拼湊,展示人類生活變遷的中介如何影響我們的感受、思考和對周圍環境的歸屬感。

最後是象徵主義的、治癒的敘事,將多元、無序的靈感碎片,透過主體串接,創作者也在所敘說的故事中更認識自我。喬瑟夫.威爾森(Joseph Olisaemeka Wilson借鑒流行文化、現代藝術和非洲民間傳說,探索與殖民主義、考古學和未來主義,他將這些敘事瓦解,用機器、人類、動物、骷髏頭、靈魂和舞蹈儀式,創造出另一個宇宙,彷彿一場幻想中的末日;阿斯特麗德.特拉薩斯(Astrid Terrazas視繪畫為「尋找和埋葬的過程」,融合了夢境、墨西哥民間傳說和生活經驗,畫面中的變形和隱喻如同帶有保護力的咒語,是一段以治療敘事改變歷史的過程;彼得.詹尼斯(Pieter Jennes的作品則經常讓人聯想到民間傳說或喜劇表演,既嚴肅也輕鬆,他回顧了古今文化現象,向觀者展示了一個全新的組合敘事。莫里茨.史萊姆(Moritz Schleime的創作是一種色彩繽紛的象徵主義,音樂、文學、藝術史和流行文化是他的養分,在超現實場景中鋪陳著毀滅後重生的相對元素,生與死、動與靜、陶醉與清醒,既幽默且諷刺卻也充滿浪漫和希望。

主體經驗封存在個人和文化當中,以非物質的意義呈現,也就是說,經驗是一種經由意義所產生的統整結構。而藝術家們的視覺語言,就像是主體經驗的凝固劑,將難以捉摸的、游離的經驗狀態,經由創作轉化而塑形,透過多元視角講述出豐富的故事。

ON-SITE
ARTWORKS

大衛.諾羅     Face

大衛.諾羅     Friends with blind eyes

大衛.諾羅    Some kind of hunt

艾美.林肯    Impatients and Tomato

艾蒂安.查克    Daylight Memo

艾蒂安.查克    Echo

艾蒂安.查克    Progression

彼得.詹尼斯    How many camels

弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯    Bags, Bras and Boots

弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯    Birthday Cake II

弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯    Living Room (Orange Chairs)

弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯    Living Room (Red Chairs)

弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯    Living Room (Yellow Chairs)

弗洛倫斯.哈欽斯    Partners Talking

安德魯.哈特    Earth Listening – Listening Earth

安德魯.哈特    Earth Tones

亞歷山大.阿科斯塔    Mind Labyrinth

亞歷山大.阿科斯塔    Neon Hunter

法蘭西斯柯.羅德里奎茲    Pandereta

法蘭西斯柯.羅德里奎茲    The Lie

卡羅.德安賽爾米    Double Dog Dare

卡羅.德安賽爾米    The Night Had Ended

夏洛特.基茨    Sliding Doorways

Courtesy of the Artist and Arusha Gallery

夏洛特.基茨    Swathes of Golden Sun

Courtesy of the Artist and Arusha Gallery

莫里茨.史萊姆    Sauf Sauf, Häusle baue (Welcome im Ländle, Mr.Slimie)

莫里茨.史萊姆    Love Boat Captain (Rosi)

喬治.賽林    The Hedgehog Dilemma II

喬治.賽林    The Moon was a dandling petal

薇若妮卡.費南德斯   Grounded

薇若妮卡.費南德斯    Bleached (Why Didn’t You Want Me?)

阿斯特麗德.特拉薩斯   dos piedras para el cisne

喬瑟夫.威爾森    Conflict with wild animal

喬瑟夫.威爾森     Idol (echidna)

喬瑟夫.威爾森     Idol (Horse with a certain strength)

喬瑟夫.威爾森     Idol (Cave Bear with a certain strength)

喬瑟夫.威爾森     Another Birdcatcher

喬瑟夫.威爾森    The Chevalier

喬瑟夫.威爾森     Prayer with an owl


 Previous Next